PERSONAL: My Skin Story

I’ve been thinking about this post for a while, and I know it’s not Disney related, but I thought maybe some of y’all could relate to it and maybe find it interesting! I don’t really like looking at old pictures of myself or talk about my skin because it was so so bad… and it’s been a roller coaster ride pretty much my entire life. Also please ignore how terrible I look in most of these photos because this was before braces/my slight glo up.

I started having skin problems very early in my life, probably around the 5th grade. I would get these tiny, colorless bumps on every square inch of my forehead, and I would get pimples pretty much everywhere else on my face.

f120526161

I would go to the dermatologist monthly and I tried EVERYTHING you could ever think of – every cream, face wash, pill, skin regimen on the market, I tried it multiple times. It got to the point where it seemed like there was NO hope. My mom decided we should try our last resort, which was Accutane. Here are my before pictures (sorry, they’re no glamour shots):

IMG_8123IMG_8124IMG_8125

If you’ve never heard of Accutane, I’ll warn you right now, it’s a VERY intense treatment, and requires a LOT of work to keep up. Not only do you have to take the Accutane pill every day, you also have to be on birth control during the entire process (mine were about 6 months each) and you have to get bloodwork done monthly. You have to make sure your appointments are at the same time every single month, and the Accutane pill is in stock at your pharmacy every month, because you have a very limited window to have your monthly appointment with your dermatologist and pick up your medication. If you’re out of town, or don’t pick up your medication on time, it’s a PAIN to get back on track (believe me).

I was on Accutane for one cycle in 2014 for about 6 months. The side effects of Accutane are NO JOKE. You can ALWAYS tell in photos of me when I was on Accutane because my lips are pretty much invisible. That’s one of the most obvious signs, and the most annoying. No matter what I did, my lips were always PAINFULLY dry and cracked. The corners of my mouth would crack too which, honestly, just thinking about it makes me shudder. The dryness was the biggest thing; I had to apply this moisturizer every day that my sister and I dubbed “Crisco” because it literally felt like I was smearing a stick of Crisco on my face. Even my eyelids would get dry and cracked. That was hands down the absolute worst side effect of being on Accutane. On the bright side I never had to wash my hair because it never got oily!!! 😉 Apparently a big side effect of Accutane is depression, which I never had, but it’s something that happens to a lot of people while they’re on the medication. If you have depression, I would be cautious with trying out this drug. Here are my “in progress” pictures:

4

IMG_3748IMG_3749

After I was finished with the Accutane, my skin looked AMAZING. I was so happy with the results, and I definitely felt like it was worth all of the crap I had to go through while I was on the Accutane. Here are some after photos:

f4137758648

Unfortunately, about 6 months later, my skin reverted back to its old self, like the Accutane never happened. I was so devastated; I tried a bunch of creams and whatnot again, but eventually, my dermatologist recommended I go on Accutane for a second time, so that’s what I did. 6 months later, my skin was as good as new.

It’s all a blur after that, but basically, my skin just didn’t want to keep the results of the Accutane for good. Once my skin started getting bad AGAIN, I just decided to quit going to the dermatologist and try to fix it myself. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to try something I saw on Facebook called Cureology. It’s advertised as the benefits of a prescription acne medication without having to go to a dermatologist every month. They had a free trial, but after that it was $20 a month. I ended up trying it for 2 months, and it was okay, but it wasn’t so life changing that I felt the need to keep spending $20 a month on it. So, that brings us to the present. I’m always trying new face washes, skin treatments, face masks, moisturizers, etc. My skin right now is nowhere NEAR as bad as it used to be, but because of my past, I have so many scars that I’m super insecure about. My skin is super bumpy because of all of the scars, and the pores around my nose are huge and I can never seem to get rid of them. The bumps on my forehead have mostly gone away, but they’ve kind of migrated to my cheeks so I’m currently trying to get those under control. Luckily, I don’t really get big pimples anymore, but when I do they seem to last for MONTHS. It’s always a work in progress, and I’m sure almost all of you guys can relate to that.

If you guys can relate to my story, have any advice, or just want to share your story with me definitely reach out to me on social media @mickeyspremium! I totally understand how frustrating skin issues can be, ESPECIALLY when it feels like you’ve exhausted all of your options and there’s nowhere else to turn. I can promise you all hope is NOT lost and you are BEAUTIFUL in your own skin! ❤

Leave a Reply

