TIPS: My FastPass+ Strategy

I’ve gotten a few questions on which FastPasses I recommend so I thought I’d share some of my thoughts for each of the four parks! Of course this is going to vary based on what types of attractions you like and what time of year you’re going. Some general tips I have are:

  • Don’t give up!!! I’ve found some amazing FPs days or even hours before I head for the parks. Check at random times of the day and check frequently; you never know what’s going to pop up!
  • Don’t think these three that you pick are the ones you’re tied to forever. You can change them while you’re in the park (depending on what’s available) and you can get more once you’ve used your first three. My advice is to get your three FP for early in the morning so you can get more as the day goes on!
  • If you’re going during peak season (Christmas, June-August, Spring Break): ANYTHING is good. The lines are pretty much long all around, so just pick anything and I’m sure it will be better than having nothing at all.
  • Don’t beat yourself up if you get a FP and the line ends up being super short when you get there. It happens to the best of us 😉
  1. Animal Kingdom: Of course Expedition Everest is a biggie for this park, as is Kilimanjaro Safari. However, those are the ones that usually fill up quick, so it’s good to have back ups for these! I also get Dinosaur because that’s one of my all time favorite rides and you never know how long that line is going to be. As far as the other selections, its all about preference. I usually don’t FP shows because I’ll just get there early enough to get a good seat; but a FP for Festival of the Lion King or Finding Nemo: The Musical could be very helpful. If you’re going in the heat of summer, a FP for Kali River Rapids is a must. The only FP I would not recommend at this park are Flights of Wonder, Primeval Whirl, and Its Tough To Be A Bug. I’ve never FP meeting the characters at Adventurer’s Outpost so I’m not sure how useful that one is!
  2. Hollywood Studios: Hollywood Studios works on a tiered system, so you can pick one experience from the first tier (the more popular attractions) and two from the second. The first tier consists of: Beauty and the Beast, Fantasmic!, Rock n Roller Coaster, The Great Movie Ride, and Toy Story Midway Mania. This is where your personal preference totally comes into play. If you like roller coasters and don’t want to be separated from your group (because this ride does have a single rider line), go for Rock n Roller Coaster. There’s usually times during the day where you can find The Great Movie Ride with a smaller wait, so I wouldn’t use it on that unless you’re going during peak season. Toy Story is another major attraction with a LONG line, so if that looks like something you definitely want to get done, make sure to try and score a FP for that. I don’t think a FP for Beauty and the Beast is needed if you get there early enough, and I definitely wouldn’t pick it over the other choices. That leaves Fantasmic, which is pretty hit or miss for me. If there’s two showings of Fantasmic the day you’re coming, don’t bother with the FP and view the later showing. If there’s only one showing, and you’re really set on getting a close seat, give the FP a try! FP for Fantasmic stays around pretty long, so I’d recommend making 3 selections for earlier in the morning and then getting Fantasmic at a kisok in the park later in the day after you’ve used those 3. That leads us to the second tier, which I’m going to be honest, is kind of a throw away for me. That’s mostly because the only attraction I really like and feel the need to FP is Star Tours. I’m not a fan of Tower of Terror, but if you are, definitely choose that one. The FP for all of the shows are pretty much all bogus. They don’t get you any closer than just waiting a little earlier would, and MuppetVision never ever has a long line, or even a line at all.
  3. Epcot: Epcot also works on a tiered system. In the first tier is IllumiNations, Living With the Land, Mission: SPACE, Soarin’, and Test Track. The FP viewing area for IllumiNations is front and center, and I really like the spot. However, like I mentioned earlier, if you choose this as one of your initial 3, you can’t make any more selections during the day, since you have to use all 3 first, and IllumiNations is at night. Living With the Land is on the bottom of the totem pole for me; it hardly ever has a line, and I wouldn’t wait in a long line for  it anyway, unless it was my first time. Mission: SPACE may be worth a FP if you’re going on the orange (more intense) side. I always go on green (less intense) and the wait usually isn’t bad. Soarin’ is closed for about 6 months, but if you’re going after it reopens and can somehow score a FP for this, DEFINITELY choose this one!!!! It’s going to have a brand new movie, so this is one EVERYONE is going to want to get. That leaves Test Track, which you’ll want to FP if you like roller coasters AND want to keep your whole party together. If you want to FP something else in this tier, and if you don’t mind not getting to customize your car and sit together with your party, try the single rider line! Going into the second tier, I always choose Spaceship Earth (because it’s a classic, and that line can go from 5 to 30 minutes in the blink of an eye). As far as the third selection, again it’s up to what you like. Figment never ever has a long line (unless, again, peak season), and I’ve never done the Pixar Short Film Collection but I wouldn’t imagine that has a long line either. Meeting “Disney Pals” (usually Minnie, Mickey, and Goofy) is a good one to get if you like character experiences, and especially if you’re not a Visa cardholder. Fun fact: there’s a FREE meet and greet for Visa cardholders (any type – not just Disney Visa) in Innoventions. It’s usually 2 characters (the classics – I’ve seen Minnie, Mickey, Goofy, Pluto, Chip, and Dale) and the interactions are always SO fun!! They used to give you a free 4×6 as well, but I think they’ve stopped that now. If you’re not dead set on meeting Mickey, Minnie, and/or Goofy and have a Visa, definitely skip the FP and head for Innoventions! The Seas with Nemo and Friends is another good option to FP, although the line hasn’t been bad lately. I’m not sure how valuable the FP for Turtle Talk is, because I rarely ever go to that!
  4. Magic Kingdom: The biggie. Magic Kingdom does NOT work on a tiered system, so you’re free to choose any three attractions you’d like. This is the park I visit most often, and my strategy is pretty much ALWAYS the same: Enchanted Tales with Belle, Space Mountain, and a character meet and greet. This one involves a lot more strategy and involves a lot more of you picking based on your preference, so I’m going to try to break it down a little:
    1. Attractions I DO NOT think you need to FP: Dumbo (has a playground so kids can play while they wait, if the line is even long), Mad Tea Party (usually not too long of a line), Main Street Electrical Parade (especially if you’re able to see the second showing), PhilharMagic (never a line), Monsters Inc. Laugh Floor (not a long line), The Barnstormer (much better attractions to FP than this), Magic Carpets, Under the Sea – Journey of the Little Mermaid (not to be confused with Ariel M&G – this ride has little to no line)
    2. Attractions to FP if you’re a THRILL SEEKER: Any of the mountains (Big Thunder, Space, Splash [especially on hot days]), Mine Train (a tricky one to get and ALWAYS has a long line, so get this one if you can!!!)
    3. Attractions to FP if you have VERY SMALL CHILDREN: it’s a small world (this line can get pretty long, but you can catch it at short wait times at the beginning and end of the day, so don’t make it a priority to FP), Enchanted Tales with Belle (very interactive, and the line can get pretty long for this at times), any of the character M&Gs (especially the princesses), Peter Pan’s Flight (one of the longest lines in the park at all times, get this if you can!), The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh
    4. Attractions to FP if you have YOUNGER but NOT VERY YOUNG CHILDREN: Buzz Lightyear’s Space Ranger Spin (fun ride, and line can get lengthy), Haunted Mansion and Pirates of the Caribbean (both have the most BORING lines ever. If I ever go on these, it’s always with a FP), Jungle Cruise (another boring line), Tomorrowland Speedway
    5. PARADES AND SHOWS: Whether or not to FP parades and shows is very debatable. Personally, I’d rather wait a little bit for a spot (usually, you’re waiting about the same amount anyway) than use a FP for Wishes (plus, the viewing area isn’t that great). As far as Festival of Fantasy, the FP viewing area is really awesome (right at the end of main street, looking at the castle), so if you’re looking for a unique view that’s great for pictures, consider getting this one. However, I feel it’s better to get a spot in the less crowded Frontierland for this parade and use the FP for something else.

I hope this helped!!! I know it’s a daunting task, but like I said, you pretty much can’t go wrong. Having a FP for ANYTHING is better than not having one at all! If you need any clarification, visit my Facebook or Instagram page and leave me a comment and I’d be more than happy to help out!

Leave a Reply

